Nachtfalter


I somehow always liked moths. Maybe, because in German there is another name for it, besides the direct translation of moth, Motte. We also call them Nachtfalter wich could be translated to butterfly of the night. Quite elegant, don’t you think?

Now, when it comes to insects I’m normally not that much of a fan – I can’t even tell why, but there are so many insects that I just cannot stand. And something that scared me a lot when I was a child, was imagining how insects would be like, if they where huge. Don’t know where that thought ever originated, though I have the hunch that it was Walt Disney that put those scary thoughts in my mind!

Anyways, I normally hate giant Insects, regardless if they are beetles, spiders or maggots.

Not so with this really beautiful insect – a hand-sized moth Butterfly of the night. Click on more, if you have the stomach for it 😉

Found on Elise Andrews ingenious Facebook blog I fucking love science comes this:

Another look at the ever popular Venezuelan poodle moth.

This moth was first discovered and photographed in 2009 and is believed to be a new species. It’s thought to belong to the lepidopteran genus Artace.

And here’s the picture of the Venezuelan Poodle Moth – isn’t it beautiful?

All credit goes to I fucking love science – a blog one really should subscribe to 😉

And to close this entry, here comes a German darkwave song on “Nachtfalter”, which I also really like (those where the really good darkwave times, not that new EBM/Cybergoth crap :/ )

Please comment. I really enjoy your thoughts!

