[Moved to Profession Blog] Tomcat with Gentoo


Due to my new blog redesign this post has been moved to my profession blog [English entry].

1 thought on “[Moved to Profession Blog] Tomcat with Gentoo

  1. /var/lib is different than /usr/lib so it isn’t a library in that sense. /opt is usually reserved for packages that don’t use the native system installer or have closed licenses.

    If you deploy your web apps/.wars to /var/lib/tomcat6/webapps you ought to be fine. I think this is documented officially on Gentoo.org. Fedora uses the same directory as well.

    Of course, by changing the config file you can use /srv/ for all your vhosts. I like it that way because then I can define my own /srv/ directory structure and let the default install stuff get clobbered w/o worry.

Please comment. I really enjoy your thoughts!