/me made a decision


And it was a tough one. But I’ve finally decided to get myself a Macbook.

Why the Mac? Well first of all my laptop’s still broken and I really need a new one soon (for studies).

So, I dropped my decision of repairing it for two reasons:

  1. I do not know what the exact problem is. Definitely it has something to do with the heat. But maybe, or probably it is not only the fan (because that one would crash my computer because of overheat – which happened often. But then, it totally crashed and did not boot – that happened two times – so I guess there is something else wrong – a faulty CPU or Motherboard).
  2. I don’t have the time now. And that is the main factor. If I start repairing that thing now, I will be busy with that. Then I will be busy bringing my Linux up-to-date. And of course Murphy will be proofed again; at least it did the last times. My Laptop always works perfectly – except for the times where I have semesters. And especially in those times I need a reliable system that does not break down. I can deal with all the problems when I am at home, because there I have lots of time – and the interest to find the problems, the interest to spend hours and days, just to break the system and make it do what I want. But in Semesters I simply cannot afford the time.

Now Apples Mac OS X is sad to work without any flaws – and as long as you do not do any serious hacking on the machine, everything should work perfectly and goes hand in hand with each other. So I want to give it a try. I know that all my tools I need for university work perfectly on a Mac (some professors at our university use a Mac assuring that everything we need will work on them πŸ˜‰ ).
And I won’t get that far away from my beloved Windows. Mac builds up on a BSD/Unix, which makes it possible to compile Linux/Unix tools on a Mac. There’s a Terminal Emulator with bash available (my beloved console πŸ™‚ ), so what else can I ask for?
And if I still need a Windows or Linux I’ll use Parallels to emulate them (seems to work perfectly even on low hardware (1GB for Windows XP, 2GB for Vista – I wonder how this works, as on my laptop 2GB are needed to run Vista natively).

So let’s give it a try. I’ll blog about my experiences later πŸ˜‰

Oh, and by the way: This will be my model, only with 4GB instead of 2GB RAM (yes, I intend to use virtual machines a lot πŸ˜‰ For OS X, 1 GB is more than enough).

(Of course my main computer at home will stay a Linux Gentoo driven Computer πŸ™‚ ).

Please comment. I really enjoy your thoughts!

