Notebook experience / velvet Moleskine?


One of the most important tools in GTD, which is even more stressed in ZTD is the notebook.
So I looked out for one – first of all in the internet, I found a lot of recommendations – most of them pointing out to use a Moleskine. This seems to be some kind of cult status, there are several resources in the internet on how to hack your Moleskine, to make more out of it (ranging from simple Tab-Adding to attaching a pen-holder to your notebook, etc.).
So I thought why not give it a try. But then I discovered it to be a simple notebook with leather binding, starting at prices from 10€ for the small DIN A6 sized notebook up to 20€ for the larger ones.
Just for a bunch of papers?
So I went to Hertie to find something cheaper. I found a copy of Moleskine, with the simple name “Note Book” – but now, after using it one week, I start feeling that it will not last long.

So actually I am looking for a notebook again. Quiet honestly I have one in mind – but I simply do not know the brand. Interestingly it looks similar to the Moleskine series with the slight different, that it was packed differently (without this coloured inlay, that all Moleskine series use). And the other obvious difference is that it is not bound with leather but with some kind of velvet cloth around a paper hardcover.
I checked out the website of El Corte Inglés, where I bought it from, when I was in Las Palmas, but there they just seem to have Moleskine notebooks. And showing it my girlfriend today, she also thinks, that this is a Moleskine. But searching through the Websites and walking through all of the very view stationaries Husum has, I do only find the leather ones in hard- and soft cover.

So, my question to anybody out there, that may read this: Is there a velvet-kind hardcover Moleskine out there?

2 thoughts on “Notebook experience / velvet Moleskine?

  1. Hi,
    I would still recommend to get a genuine Moleskine. It works great, people give you nice remarks about it and all in all it is worth the money. I admit I was hesitant at first as well, but then tries it and never looked back.
    Cheers, Edwin

  2. Pingback: In addition to: Notebook experience / velvet Moleskine? « ~ PygoscelisPapua ~

Please comment. I really enjoy your thoughts!

